Not a Piece in the Games: Katniss Everdeen

Once upon a time, I hated reading. Books were the bane of my existence. However, my older sister, who also hated reading, would constantly tell me how good this series called The Hunger Games was. It was during the time the first movie came out and I was an unimpressed, sophomore in high school who wanted nothing to do with books. Then I decided a few months later to read the series, and I fell in love with it. Katniss Everdeen was just a year older than me, and I was floored at her bravery. This might sound weird, but as a 15-year-old, I saw Katniss as a role model.  Being brave is not the only aspect of why Katniss is a fictional character whom I love. These are the reasons why:

Her protective nature:Image result for katniss and prim gifs

Katniss’ desire to protect her little sister, Prim, is the reason she entered the Hunger Games. She didn’t even think that by volunteering for her sister, she may wind up dead in the games. That didn’t cross her mind. All she wanted to do was ensure that her sister lived and had a future. Katniss didn’t care that she might not have one. Her protectiveness also carried over in the actual games where she tried to help Rue survive. Her tenderness towards Rue and Prim are admirable qualities to possess. Especially considering Katniss was supposed to be only 16 in the first book.

Her fierce attitude:Image result for katniss everdeen gifs

This seems to be a common trait that I talk about in my posts. Honestly, if a character doesn’t have some form of sass, they’re pretty much not worth writing about. Or at least that’s what I think. Katniss is extremely passive aggressive. She doesn’t tolerate idiocy. She’s very straight to the point and is often annoyed when people deter her.

Her strength:Image result for katniss everdeen bow and arrow gifs

Katniss’ strength is applicable to being both physically and emotionally strong. She can wield a bow and arrow like nobody’s business. Let’s not forget she was the one to receive the highest points in skills for the games. Besides being physically strong, she never lets her emotions hinder her. It’s not to say she doesn’t have feelings, but she has a very tight control over them. She continued to put on a brave face during the games because she knew her little sister would be watching. Katniss also had to grow up quite quickly. When her father passed away, her mother was emotionally unstable. Katniss became a mother-figure at a young age. Also she led a rebellion. That’s right, a 17-year-old led the country in a rebellion.

Her love:Image result for katniss and peeta "i do I need you" gifs

Beneath her cold exterior, Katniss loved deeply. She loved her sister and her best friend Gale. Katniss would do anything for them. In fact, she was willing to die for her sister. Despite her unwavering feelings for most of the series, Katniss did truly love Peeta. She didn’t want to admit it, but she did. Eventually, she realized that he was the only one who understood her. Being in the situation she was in, it wouldn’t have been too out of the ordinary if she didn’t show any signs of love. But she did. For Peeta, her bitter heart softened.

Her courage and bravery:Image result for katniss bravery gifs

One of my favorite things about Katniss is her courage and bravery. I remember being 16 and being too scared to do something as mundane as asking my teacher to use a hall pass. Then I remembered reading a year prior about Katniss heading into a battle of death voluntarily. Katniss Everdeen is a great fictional character for young girls to look up to simply for her bravery and courage. At 20, I can’t imagine having that kind of courage and bravery. Although I wish I did! That’s the thing about Katniss though; she’s a character that was written to inspire young women. Through the series, she kept on doing what she believed even though there were consequences. However, she didn’t care because she took a firm stand in what she believed in. She became a voice for those who didn’t have one.

Katniss is a fighter through and through. Though she does have some flaws. That makes her a typical teenage girl. Katniss Everdeen will always be a role model for young women who fight to have courage and bravery. Also, this is my favorite book series ever so I may be biased. (Side note: Jennifer Lawrence is the best too, so that made me like Katniss even more!)

3 thoughts on “Not a Piece in the Games: Katniss Everdeen

Leave a Reply

